Vlatko Andonovski announces USWNT World Cup roster: Rapinoe and Lavelle are in!

The head coach of the US Women’s team, Vlatko Andonovski, has officially unveiled the 23-player USWNT World Cup roster for the upcoming World Cup in Australia and New Zealand. There has been much speculation leading up to this announcement, particularly due to the absence of key players such as captain Becky Sauerbrunn, winger Mallory Swanson, and Catarina Macario. Discover Vlatko Andonovski announces USWNT World Cup roster: Rapinoe and Lavelle are in!

Concerns were also raised about the fitness of Megan Rapinoe, who sustained an injury during OL Reign’s recent match against Kansas City, as well as Rose Lavelle, who has been working hard to recover from a knock suffered in the friendly match against Ireland in April.

The team’s lineup for the first game of the tournament against Vietnam on July 22 is yet to be determined. With Captain Sauerbrunn sidelined, Coach Andonovski faces the challenge of choosing a partner for Naomi Girma in central defense. Additionally, the absence of Mallory Swanson has raised questions about who will fill in at the left wing position, previously held by the 2019 World Cup winner.

Here is the confirmed 23-player USWNT FIFA Women’s World Cup roster:

GoalkeepersAubrey KingsburyWashington Spirit
Casey MurphyNorth Carolina Courage
Alyssa NaeherChicago Red Stars
DefendersAlana Cook*OL Reign
Crystal DunnPortland Thorns FC
Emily FoxNorth Carolina Courage
Naomi GirmaSan Diego Wave FC
Sofia HuertaOL Reign
Kelley O’HaraNJ/NY Gotham FC
Emily SonnettOL Reign
MidfieldersSavannah DeMeloRacing Louisville FC
Julie ErtzAngel City FC
Lindsey HoranOlympique Lyon, FRA
Rose LavelleOL Reign
Kristie MewisNJ/NY Gotham FC
Ashley SanchezWashington Spirit
Andi SullivanWashington Spirit
StrikersAlex MorganSan Diego Wave FC
Megan RapinoeOL Reign
Trinity RodmanWashington Spirit
Sophia SmithPortland Thorns FC
Alyssa ThompsonAngel City FC
Lynn WilliamsNJ/NY Gotham FC

Following the Vietnam match, the USWNT will face the Netherlands, their fellow finalists from the 2019 World Cup, in Wellington on July 27. They will then return to Auckland for their final group stage game against Portugal at Eden Park on August 1.

Having been crowned champions in the 2019 World Cup in France, the USWNT made history by becoming the first team to win the prestigious tournament four times. In Australia and New Zealand, they aim to secure an unprecedented third consecutive title. Germany is the only other team to match the USWNT’s current record of two consecutive World Cup wins, achieved in 2003 and 2007.

Suggested Read: Inter Miami plan between three and five more signings to accompany Messi

Farjad Khairi

Meet Farjad, a talented sports journalist on our team. Premier League, UEFA Leagues, and other important sporting events are his specialty. With a wealth of research strength under his belt, Farjad is known for his in-depth analysis and insightful. When not writing, he loves to travel and try different foods and civilizations. Farjad is a passionate foodie who enjoys everything edible. Readers admire Farjad's unique take on sports, travel, and food.

Articles: 507

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *